The wife and I took a little trip to the Smoky Mountains this past weekend with two good friends. Fishing, traffic, shows, traffic, great food, traffic, Smoky Mountain Knife Works, beautiful fall folliage, traffic…oh, and did I mention…TRAFFIC! As we were leaving the Smoky’s, our friend Karen wanted to stop at one of the many outlets. Next door to the Fiestawear shop was a small antique mall. “Tools!”, says I. In the back of the shop, in a metal box of mechanic tools, I saw a wooden handle peeking out. As I unearthed the rest of the tool, I was delighted to discover a Pexto curved blade drawknife in very good condition. A little surface rust and the handles need some TLC but overall I’m very pleased. It should clean up nicely. “$12.50” says the nice man. “Sold!” I have several hammer heads awaiting handles and a stack of straight-grained hickory awaiting hammer heads…here we go!

