I have gardened for as long as I can remember. When I was just a boy, and the cucumbers got their third leaf, Dad would say “Get a sharp stick and loosen up the dirt around the cucumbers. Put a little fertilizer around them, but don’t get it too close or you’ll burn them!” The reason for the sharp stick was because a regular hoe was too large…using it risked cutting off the young tender plants. Well, today I think I improved on the sharp stick…I forged a mini-hoe from a piece of 1/2 inch rebar. First I upset the end to give me a little more mass for forming the flat blade. The blade was then flattened and drawn wider with the peen end of my 3-pound cross peen and a 2-pound rounding hammer. The neck behind the blade was thinned down and bent over the horn of the anvil. I then cut the handle to length and forged a hanging loop on the end. I tempered it by quenching at a black heat. We will see how that works out. It feels good in the hand and worked well to loosen the dirt around my sage plants.

20130711-224250.jpg

20130711-224331.jpg

Thanks for looking…bart

