Our Cox’s Orange Pippin apples were starting to fall so we picked them all. Only had about 20 of them…this is the first year the tree has had apples. First impressions? The apples are firm but juicy and are what I would call sweet/tart. The have a spicy honey-like taste, maybe even traces of vanilla. Overall, I’d say its a keeper. Hopefully they will bear regularly and, in time, in sufficient quantities for using in our applebutter and cider. Articles I have read say the Orange Pippen improves with age and is a good keeper through December, maybe even January. With that in mind, I selected the five prettiest from those we picked and put them in the crisper drawer of our refrigerator. I plan to keep a close watch on them and sample every few weeks to evaluate flavor and keeping potential. I will post my impressions.

20130911-174548.jpg

