My little garden is on a north-facing slope, has trees on the south side and typically doesn’t get sun until nearly noon even in the summer months. Probably the worst place possible for a corn patch, right? Well, with all that being said, here’s my tiny harvest of even tinier ears of Abenaki flint corn, also known as Roy’s Calais drying behind our wood stove (and no, we haven’t built a fire in it yet this fall).
Teresa says I have to leave them up a little longer as a fall decoration before I can grind them into meal! I have to admit they are “purty”. However, I just could not resist shelling out a couple ears this morning…just to see how the drying process is coming along 🙂
Anybody have a really good cornbread recipe?

20131009-082906.jpg

20131009-082928.jpg

20131009-082949.jpg

