I thought we were finished putting away the harvest for this year. Then one of my wife’s co-workers sent me a bag containing the last of her banana peppers “because I know Bart likes them.” Sooo…decided to make a small batch of relish. I remembered a recipe I had seen on the ‘net and modified it a little based on what we had on hand. First I cut the stem ends off the peppers and scraped the seeds and membranes out.

20131114-104610.jpg
Then I chopped the peppers, along with two cored Winesap apples, using our Universal food chopper.

20131114-104817.jpg
This went into a pot with onions, garlic, mustard, salt, vinegar and sugar. This was cooked down and placed into half-pint jars I had ready and waiting. Only made three jars but I think this recipe might be a keeper!

20131114-105159.jpg

Sweet Banana Pepper Relish
2-1/2 cups chopped banana peppers
2 chopped medium Winesap apples
1 Vidalia onion
1 clove garlic
1/2 cup sugar
1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
1 tablespoonful prepared mustard
1-1/2 teaspoonful salt

Mix salt with chopped peppers and place in strainer to drain for 30 minutes. Cook chopped onions and garlic in a little olive oil until soft. Add remain ingredients and cook over medium heat, stirring constantly to keep from scorching. When most of the liquid had been absorbed/evaporated, place in prepared jars. Process in hot water bath for 10 minutes.

