Dad always said you should never complain about a refrigerator thats too full or an overflowing food cabinet. With that being said, we never have had a good place to store our canned goods, especially the home-canned variety. They usually end up in a box under the bed or (worse yet) in my “den”.
This week I built a small “pantry” on one side of our very small laundry room.
Since it is an inside wall, I began by pulling down the paneling that spanned three studs. I figured if I set the shelves into the wall I could increase their depth by 3-1/2 inches without increasing how much they protruded into an already cramped room.
Our little pantry was made entirely of 1 x 6 pine boards from the local big-box store. They extend from floor to ceiling and the shelves are glued and nailed into dados cut into the uprights. I spaced the shelves so they would hold a quart canning jar. Of course a pint jar fits just as well and two half-pints will actually stack one on top of the other.
Most of the cutting and dadoing was done with the table saw and router. Here you can see a shop-built jig being used to guide the router, assuring equally spaced rabbets.

20131124-090438.jpg Sometimes, however, the old ways are more efficient. So, I used a wood-bodied jack plane to joint the edge of one of the uprights…

20131124-091421.jpg …and a wooden skew bladed rabbet plane to cut a rabbet for the back of the shelves:

20131124-091911.jpg I re-used the panelling I had previously removed from the wall as a back for the shelves. The completed pantry units were attached to the studs with #10 wood screws. I then attached trim cut from some wider molding left over from another project. The wide section between the units provides a channel for wiring to an electrical outlet on the other side of the wall.

20131124-092754.jpg As with most storage, it didn’t take it long to fill up!

20131124-093045.jpg
Since the original door swung into the laundry room, covering our new pantry and crowding an already cramped space, I replaced it with a new bifold door that folds conveniently out of the way.

20131124-093833.jpg

20131124-093159.jpg

Thanks for looking…bart

